History of South Korea

Korean Armistice Agreement
The site of negotiations in 1951 ©Image Attribution forthcoming. Image belongs to the respective owner(s).
1953 Jul 27

Korean Armistice Agreement

Joint Security Area (JSA), Eor

The Korean Armistice Agreement was a ceasefire agreement signed on July 27, 1953, between North Korea and the United Nations, represented by the United States, to end the fighting in the Korean War. The agreement established a demilitarized zone (DMZ) separating North and South Korea and created the Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) that still exists today. The armistice was signed by North Korean General Nam Il and U.S. Army Lieutenant General William K. Harrison Jr. and was supervised by the Military Armistice Commission (MAC) and the Neutral Nations Supervisory Commission (NNSC). The armistice has never been formally ended and a state of war technically still exists between the two Koreas.

HistoryMaps Shop

Visit Shop