Muslim Conquest of Persia

Battle of Babylon
Battle of Babylon ©Graham Turner
636 Dec 15

Battle of Babylon

Babylon, Iraq

After a Muslim victory in the Battle of al-Qādisiyyah, the Caliph Umar ruled that it was time to conquer the Sasanian Empire's capital of Ctesiphon. Battle of Babylon was fought between the forces of Sassanid Empire and Rashidun Caliphate in 636. Muslim Arabs won the encounter to maintain their pursuit of conquering Ctesiphon.

By mid-December of 636, Muslims gained the Euphrates and camped outside Babylon. The Sassanian forces in Babylon are said to have been commanded by Piruz Khosrow, Hormuzan, Mihran Razi and Nakhiragan. Whatever the reason, it is in fact that the Sassanids were unable to oppose a significant resistance to the Muslims. Hormuzan withdrew with his forces to his province of Ahwaz, after which the other Persian generals returned their units and retreated to the north. After the withdrawal of Sassanian forces, citizens of Babylon formally surrendered.

Last Updated: Sun Jan 07 2024

HistoryMaps Shop

Shop Now

There are several ways to support the HistoryMaps Project.
Shop Now
Support Page

What's New

New Features




New HistoryMaps

History of Afghanistan
History of Georgia
History of Azerbaijan
History of Albania