History of the Soviet Union

Molotov–Ribbentrop Pact
Molotov (left) and Ribbentrop at the signing of the pact
1939 Aug 23

Molotov–Ribbentrop Pact

Moscow, Russia

The Molotov–Ribbentrop Pact was a non-aggression pact between Nazi Germany and the Soviet Union that enabled those powers to partition Poland between them. The pact was signed in Moscow on 23 August 1939 by German Foreign Minister Joachim von Ribbentrop and Soviet Foreign Minister Vyacheslav Molotov and was officially known as the Treaty of Non-Aggression between Germany and the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics.