History of Indonesia

Anglo-Dutch Treaty of 1814
Lord Castlereagh Marquess of Londonderry
1814 Jan 1

Anglo-Dutch Treaty of 1814

London, UK

The Anglo-Dutch Treaty of 1814 was signed by the United Kingdom and the Netherlands in London on 13 August 1814. The treaty restored most of the territories in the Moluccas and Java that Britain had seized in the Napoleonic Wars, but confirmed British possession of the Cape Colony on the southern tip of Africa, as well as portions of South America.  It was signed by Robert Stewart, Viscount Castlereagh, on behalf of the British and diplomat Hendrik Fagel, on behalf of the Dutch.