Greek War of Independence
Russia declares war on Turkey
Siege of Akhaltsikhe 1828, by January Suchodolski
1828 Apr 26

Russia declares war on Turkey

The Russo-Turkish War of 1828–1829 was sparked by the Greek War of Independence of 1821–1829. War broke out after the Ottoman Sultan Mahmud II closed the Dardanelles to Russian ships and revoked the 1826 Akkerman Convention in retaliation for Russian participation in October 1827 in the Battle of Navarino.